Hit and Run in Illinois: Definition and Potential Penalties

Hit and Run in Illinois

Hit and Run in IllinoisUnder the Illinois Vehicle Code, an individual involved in a vehicular accident wherein other individuals were injured or property was damaged is legally required to stop driving. They need to survey the scene and exchange relevant details about the accident and/or call for aid, whichever is applicable.

Defining Hit and Run Under Illinois Statute

In the event that a driver involved in an accident leaves the accident scene and his or her actions resulted in property damage, he or she could be charged with a misdemeanor hit and run. On the other hand, if the driver’s actions caused injury to another individual, the driver could be charged with a felony hit and run.

A hit and run is a severe crime, especially if it involves injury or death of another individual. According to a traffic offense attorney in Springfield, IL, depending on the crime’s specific circumstances, the suspect could face a costly fine of $25,000 and imprisonment of 15 years, if convicted. A conviction for hit and run could lead to revocation or suspension of the suspect’s license, and a permanent criminal record. This, in turn, could hinder the suspect’s ability to find a place to stay or get employment in the future.

Potential Punishments for a Hit and Run Conviction in Illinois

A hit and run charge involving severe property damage is considered a Class 4 felony. Potential penalties include a hefty fine not exceeding $25,000 and/or imprisonment of three years. A hit and run involving injury to other individuals is considered a Class 2 felony, with a potential sentence of seven years in prison and/or a fine not more than $25,000. If the hit and run accident resulted in another individual’s death, the charge is a Class 1 felony with a maximum fine of $25,000 and/or 15 years in prison.

READ  From Paralegal Education: A Good Stepping Stone to Becoming a Lawyer?

There are plenty of circumstances that could easily impact your individual charge. Because of this, it is critical to obtain legal representation as soon as you’re arrested. Understand how Illinois hit and run laws apply to your particular case.